Twenty-20 cricket History, t20 cricket History

Watch Now           Download Now

Twenty-20 cricket History

          Twenty-20 is one of the professional form of the cricket. T20 took birth in form of an idea, which was discussed by English and wales Cricket board (ECB) in 1998 and in 2001. They need another ODI competition as a replacement, after the Benson and Hedges club in 2001.They wanted to adopt new form of game to restrain declining attendance of the country cricket. It was Stuart Robinson, the marketing manager of the ECB presented a concept of 40 over game 20-20 over per innings. The county voted and the vote were  11-7, 11 in favour and 7 against new format of cricket.
       The first official twenty 20 matches were played between the English countries in Twenty20 Cup on 13 June 2003. First season of the English Twenty20 Cup was relative success. After Twenty20 cup held in English countries other countries were also interested to adopt new format. Following are the domestic league played by countries.

Domastic competition of country

*Domastic competition

Indian premier League

Bangladesh premier League

Big Bash League

New Zealand
Georgie pie super smash

Inter-provincial Trophy

Natwest T20 Blast

Sri lanka
Sri lanka premiere league

West Indies
Caribbian premier League

South Africa
Ram slam T20 challenge

Pakistan super league

Netherlands, Scotland
North sea pro series

    The first international Twenty20 match was played by Australia and New Zealand on 17th February 2005 at Eden Park, Auckland. Australia beat New zealand in that match. In 11 July 2006 West Indieans 19 teams were  competed in Stanford 20-20 tournament. In that inaugural  tournament Guyana won the final by defeating Trinidad and Tobago by 5 wicket. This event was financed by billionaire Allen Stanford, he gave US $28,000,000 .
General rules

The following fielding restrictions apply.

*No more than five fielders can be on the leg side at any time.

*During the first six overs, a maximum of two fielders can be outside the 30-yard circle (this is known as the powerplay).

*After powerplay (the first six overs), a maximum of five fielders can be outside the fielding circle.

*The following Bowling restrictions are apply.

*Each bowler may bowl a maximum of 4 overs per innings. For a full, uninterrupted match.

*If a bowler delivers a no ball by overstepping the popping crease, it costs 1 run and his next delivery Will be a “free-hit”. In this circumstance the batsman can only be dismissed through a run out.

*If the fielding team does not start to bowl their 20th over within 75 minutes, the batting side is credited an extra six runs for every whole over bowled after the 75-minute mark, the umpire may add more time to this if he believes the batting team is wasting time.

Download Now              Watch Now

Leave a Reply