ICC world Twenty-20 World Cup winners list, t20 world cup winners

Watch Now           Download Now

ICC world Twenty-20 World Cup winners list

The first ICC World T20 was started in 2007. ICC World T20 cup held in every 2 years. Asian countries had won 3 ICC World T20 tournament (India in 2007, Pakistan in 2009 and Sri Lanka in 2014). India has becoming the only team not to lose even a single in first match in ICC World T20 tournament. Sri Lanka is only team, who reach to the final three times in ICC World T20.


ICC World Twenty-20 2007

The first ICC World Twenty20 was started in 2007, which is hosted by South Africa. The first ICC World Twenty20 was started with the stunning power hitting from chris Gayle against South Africa. He scored 117 runs off 57 balls. Yuvraj singh also achieved record by hitting six sixes in an over on Stuart Broad bowling. We saw many records in 2007 ICC World Twenty20 tournament like Brett lee’s first hat-trick against Bangladesh and Yuvraj Singh’s 12 balls fifty. India and Pakistan was reached to final and went down to A final over with Pakistan needed 6 runs from 4 balls but Misbah-Ul-Haq scoop the ball to the short fine lag and ball landed to the Sreesanth hand and India got the unexpected win.

ICC World Twenty-20 2009

The format of the game is similar as previous tournament. for groups of 3 teams then two groups of 4 teams in quarter final and top two teams into semi-final. ICC World Twenty20 2009 held in England. The host England was beaten by Netherlands in a thrilling final ball game. Chris Gayle again played match winning innings against Australia. He scored 88 runs in 50 balls. In the semi final Pakistan beat South Africa. Shahid Afridi secure victory after scored 51 Runs and also to took 2 wickets for 10 runs. 2009 ICC World was won by the Pakistan after defeating Sri Lanka. Afridi again proved his class by hitting and unbeaten 54, which helped Pakistan win the tournament with 8 balls remaining. Umar Gul takes maximum wicket in that tournament and Tillakaratne Dilshan got the man of the series award.

ICC World Twenty-20 2010

Third ICC World T20 was held on 2010. This tournament was hosted by the Caribbean (West Indies), a little over 8 months after previous tournament. India did not play well in 2010 World Twenty-20 they eliminated before the semi-finals. Australia manage to won the match against Pakistan because of the tremendous inning of Michael Hussey. He smashed 26 runs in just 5 balls (total 60 of 24 balls) to win the game.
Australia unable to beat the England in the finals. craig kieswetter was the man of the match in finals, he scored 63 runs to become the most runner in tournament and Kevin Pietersen got the man of the series award after scoring 248 runs.

ICC World Twenty-20 2012

The fourth ICC World Twenty-20 was held first time in Asian country in Sri Lanka. 12 Teams where participating in that tournament. the format will change the preliminary round divided all the teams into 4 groups and 2 teams each progressed into the Super 8, at this stage the 8 teams made up two groups and the top two teams from each moved on to the semi final.
The tournament was won by the Caribbean Brigade. They won the World Cup after long time 36 years. Marlon Samuel got the man of the match. He scored 78 runs off just 56 balls and also took 1 wicket to seal victory in the final against the host sri Lanka.
In 2012 India unable to maintain their form and got defeated by Australia. Sri Lanka did well in that tournament. They got the advantage to play at home country. Ajantha Mendis gave best performance, he took 15 wickets in series so far. Shane Watson got the man of the series award after scoring 249 runs and took 11 wickets for Australia.

ICC World Twenty-20 2014

2014 ICC World twenty- 20 was held again in Asian country Bangladesh. In preliminary round the Hong kong and Nepal upsetting Bangladesh and Afghanistan. The host team Bangladesh lose all four games. Indian spinners bowl well in series. Sri Lanka had won the 2014 world twenty- 20 cup after defeating India. Virat kohli was the batsman of the tournament.

Download Now              Watch Now

Leave a Reply